Anaheim Child Abuse Attorney
Accused of child abuse? Let us help protect your rights.
False accusations can be detrimental to an individual's personal and
professional life, especially if these accusations involve allegations
of child abuse. If you are convicted for such a charge, not only will
you likely be facing harsh sentencing, but you may also face losing your
children. At The Law Office of Barney B. Gibbs, we are dedicated to protecting
the rights of the accused and do everything in our power to ensure that
our clients are not wrongfully convicted.
free case evaluation today to get started.
Our domestic violence lawyers in Orange County understand that situations
often get out of hand; however, we believe that no one should ever have
to cope with false allegations of child abuse. Our primary attorney, Barney
Gibbs, has seen more than 2,500 cases. Throughout his extensive experience,
he has seen many cases of child abuse that involve an angry partner's
unjust accusations or a nosy neighbor's misinterpretation. He will
represent your case with compassion and without judgment and ensure that
you see a fair trial.
Understanding Child Abuse Accusations
In order to fully ensure that your rights are protected, it is important
to understand the California laws that govern child abuse. Bringing any
form of physical harm to a child through "cruel or inhuman corporal
punishment" or injuring them to the point of trauma is illegal under
California Penal Code § 273d. § 270 of the California penal code says that parents with minor
children can be charged with child abuse if they willfully fail to provide:
- Necessary clothing
- Medical attendance
Accusations and charges of such an offense can be made against an offender
by a family member, friend, teacher, physician or anyone else who suspects
that a parent or other household member is abusing the child. When this
happens, an investigation takes place to determine whether or not the
allegations are true and, if there are reasonable grounds, charges may be filed.
Penalties for Child Abuse
If a person is convicted of child abuse, the punishment for a first offense
is imprisonment for two, four or six years, a fine of up to $6,000, or
both. A second offense within 10 years, however, will increase the prison
sentence by four years. Such a conviction could cause irreparable damage
to a person's criminal record, not to mention their family relationships.
Restraining orders could be taken out against them by the other parent, and finding a job
could be difficult due to their criminal record. Don't hesitate to
retain a competent Anaheim criminal lawyer today if you've been
falsely accused, or if you're facing charges of child abuse.
Defending Your Charges
Our team of legal professionals have the tools and resources that you need
to feel confident in your defense. We will fully investigate and analyze
the circumstances of your case to build a personalized and aggressive
defense against wrongful accusations. As an experienced and successful
lawyer, Mr. Gibbs knows that the burden of proof in a child abuse case
lies with the prosecution and will do everything in our power to make
that job difficult.
Possible defenses against your child abuse charges include:
- The injury was caused by an innocent accident
- Another child caused the injury
- Reasonable discipline caused no bodily injury
- Religious beliefs regarding treatment
- Psychological issues of the accuser
Find a Child Abuse Lawyer in Orange County, CA
Fight accusations of
domestic violence today by calling Attorney Barney B. Gibbs for the aggressive defense needed
to obtain a dismissal of your case. For nearly three decades, we have
worked almost daily in the Orange County courts and handled more than
2,500 defense cases. Our extensive and exclusive
defense experience has provided us with excellent insight into what strategies
work best, so call now to learn what could be done to defend you.
Protect your reputation, your career and your relationships by contacting
our firm today!