Weapon Charges in Orange County
Anaheim Defense Attorney
Just like other cases, the circumstances surrounding a weapon offense matter.
For example, someone may brandish a weapon at a bar during a fight, whereas
someone else may just be keeping a weapon in their car for protection.
Regardless of whether or not you ever intended to hurt someone, there
are specific laws that pertain to what type of weapon a person can own
and where they can be kept. Your guilt or innocence is not Attorney Barney
B. Gibbs' to judge, but defending your rights is his job.
Attorney Gibbs has handled many weapons charges as an attorney, including:
- Brandishing a Firearm
- Discharging a Firearm
- Illegal Weapon Possession
- Firearm or Gun Possession
- Sale or Distribution of Weapons
- Ex-Felon Possession of a Firearm or Weapon
- Using a Weapon or Firearm During a Crime
The use of a weapon can significantly add onto a jail sentence on top of
any fines or other forms of punishment. The Second Amendment gives citizens
the right to keep and bear arms. Attorney Gibbs is a firm believer in
this. He will make sure that your constitutional rights are not trampled on.
Information on Assault with a Deadly Weapon Charges
Per California Penal Code § 240, it is unlawful to threaten violence
against another person (with reasonable ability to carry out that threatened
violence) with the use of a deadly weapon. In most cases, a deadly weapon
refers to a firearm. To be convicted of this crime, it will have to be
proven that you intentionally and willfully used a deadly weapon and force
against another individual. Assault with a deadly weapon is a crime typically
alleged of those who were aware of what they were about to do and did
it anyway. This is why pleading insanity is a potential defense in some cases.
If convicted of a misdemeanor for assault with a deadly weapon, you could face:
- 6 Months in Jail
- Up to $1,000 in Fines
- Community Service
- Rehabilitation Program
You may also be faced with battery with the use of a deadly weapon or aggravated
battery. These can be considered felony offenses according to the California
Penal Code § 243(d).
The penalty for aggravated battery with a deadly weapon is the following:
- Up to 4 Years in State Prison
- Up to $10,000 in Fines
- "Strike" per California's "Three Strikes" Law
If you have been arrested for a weapons offense, there are many possibilities
for defense that Attorney Gibbs is am prepared to provide. One potential
defense is claiming that you were defending yourself with the weapon.
Another defense could be claiming that the incident was an accident.
Call The Law Office of Barney B. Gibbs for a Free Consultation
If you have been arrested for a firearm or gun offense, this could definitely
be charged as a felony. You need aggressive defense in your corner if
you want a chance at getting your penalties reduced or dismissed outright.
The Law Office of Barney B. Gibbs has more than 30 years of experience
and can assist you if you are facing a criminal offense that involved
the use of a firearm or deadly weapon.
Consultations are free, so do not hesitate to call.