Orange County Felony DUI Lawyer
Was your drunk driving offense charged as a felony?
Most drunk driving offenses are charged as misdemeanors, the class of misdemeanor
will vary based on the details of your offense. In some severe cases, a
DUI can be charged as a felony. In the state of California, there are three
major ways that your DUI could have been charged as a felony:
- DUI resulting in serious injury or death
- Three or more DUIs within the past ten years
- A DUI conviction after having committed a felony DUI previously
If you have been arrested and charged with felony DUI, you will need aggressive
defense. The Law Office of Barney B. Gibbs can provide you with a skilled
Anaheim criminal defense lawyer to defend against these charges. With
DUI offenses, you will not only have to face criminal penalties, but administrative
penalties such as
license suspension and ignition interlock installation as well.
DUI Involving Injury or Death
California Vehicle Code § 23153 defines the criminal offense of driving under the influence of drugs or
alcohol resulting in injury. Drivers who operate a motor vehicle with
alcohol or drugs in their system and then cause an accident in which someone
else is injured can be charged with felony DUI. In accidents where another
party is seriously injured, it is not uncommon for law enforcement to
require the driver to submit to a breath, blood or urine test. In order
for this type of charge to stand, there must be verifiable evidence that
the victim suffered a serious bodily injury.
California Penal Code § 191.5 subsection B defines the criminal offense of driving under the influence
of drugs or alcohol resulting in death. According to the statute, "
vehicular manslaughter while intoxicated is the unlawful killing of a human being without malice
aforethought in the driving of a vehicle under the influence of alcohol
or drugs. The death must have been the proximate result of the DUI car
accident. DUI manslaughter is punishable by county jail imprisonment for
up to one year or pursuant to § 1170 of the California Codes for
16 months, two or four years.
Those who are deemed "habitual offenders" for DUI will likely
face felony offenses for their third or subsequent offense within ten
years. In some scenarios, those who do not have prior DUI offenses but
rather have prior "wet reckless" or related reckless driving
offenses may face felony DUI charges upon their third or subsequent offense
within a ten year period. If you have committed a felony DUI in the past,
know that any future DUI offense, regardless of whether it is a misdemeanor,
can be charged as a felony because of your prior offense.
Contact an experienced, trusted law firm today!
The importance of hiring an attorney for your felony DUI case cannot be
stressed enough. If you or someone you love has been arrested in Orange
County, get in touch with a DUI lawyer from The Law Office of Barney B.
Gibbs today. Lead Attorney Barney Gibbs has more than 30 years of experience
in the local criminal justice system. He knows the courts, he knows the
DUI statutes and he knows how to creatively apply the law to your case
for your defense. We provide free case evaluations to any and all that
are interested and are in need of legal counsel. Our firm will fight to
see that clients get their charges either significantly reduced or dismissed outright.